Champion with new team in 2020 season

Penultimate event of this season in World Rally Championship decided new world rally champion. After fifteen season of dominating of both Sebastiens was time for fresh face. Ott Tanak become World Rally Champion, together with codriver Martin Jarveoja and Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team.

They finished second on 55. RallyRACC Catalunya – Costa Daurada, but it was enough for championship title. Estonian champion from 2008 season started in WRC in 2009 season with Subaru Impreza STi N14 on Rally de Portugal and already finished as 9/34 drivers in N4 class.
Already in next season he won twice in PWRC section and also twice in SWRC section in 2011 season. He finished fourth in PWRC and second in SWRC.

In 2012 season was time to sit into WRC rally car. He was driving Ford Fiesta RS WRC from M-Sport Ford WRT, but had too much “over the limit” moments, but still won on eight stages that season. Than was time to step back. He drove estonian national championship in 2013 season and than was back in WRC in 2014 season, but this time in R5 rally car.

Than with little struggling in next two seasons in Ford Fiesta RS WRC was time for show his talent. He won two WRC events in 2017 season (Sardegna and Deutschland) and finished five times on podium. He finished third in championship standings and was time to next step, to went to Toyota. In 2018 season he finished again third after some mechanical troubles, but this season dominated from start to finish. He won on sixt events and won on 73 stages.

After huge success is time for new challenges. He sign for Hyundai for next season, so he will have again a lot of work with learning about new rally car.