Mayr-Melnhof is austrian champion!

This season in main austrian rally championship (ORM) was total dominance of Niki Mayr-Melnhof and Leopold Welsersheimb with Ford Fiesta R5. One event before finish of this season became already champions with just one retirement (Janner Rallye), one second place (Rallye Weiz) and four total wins.

Maybe standings could looks little different without Raimund Baumschlager’s accident on Janner Rallye, but also with Raimund’s return, they showed close battle. Unfortunately Raimund’s Fabia R5 had failure on SS11. Before that Niki was 6.6 seconds ahead Raimund.

So Niki won with eleven stage wins (five stage wins went into Raimund’s hands) and almost four minutes ahead Johannes Keferbock in Škoda Fabia R5. With the same car finished also Gerhard Aigner on third place, more than five minutes behind Keferbock. Aigner got podium place on last stage, where he was little faster than Gernot Zeiringer in Škoda Fabia S2000.

The fastest crew with 2WD rally car was Waldherr – Unterweger, just 3.9 seconds ahead Stendd – Klinger, both with Opel Adam R2.