What a drama on Cyprus!

After yesterday technical issues on some cars and so many punctures, Day 2 on Cyprus Rally was more dramatic than ever. When we all expected that Al-Attiyah (Ford Fiesta R5) will managed to got back lost time due punctures in Day 1, he had again puncture on last stage. He was the fastest on 4/6 stages today and was on the lead before last stage.

The leader after Day 1 and first two stages today, Juuso Nordgren, had rollover on SS9: “Stupid mistakes, I feel sorry for the whole team and everyone. I don’t have any explanation how that happened. The first corner was very slippery, I went wide, which was an amateur mistake with cold tyres. We‘ll try to continue.” He lost about one minute and countinued, but just for one stage. On SS10 had again accident and retired from event. Stage was stopped and maybe SS11 was cancelled also because of that – due lateness of crews (real reason is unknown for now).

On SS12 won Al-Attiyah with 12.9 seconds ahead other drivers and had 2.3 seconds lead ahead Galatariotis before last stage. As we write, Al-Attiyah had puncture and fell on fourth place overall.

On third place finished Norbert Herczig, who had also puncture on last stage. Bruno Magalhaes (Škoda Fabia R5) finished on second place, when he lost some seconds when he had to brake to avoid Al-Attiyah. Overall win went to local driver Simos Galatariotis (Škoda Fabia R5), who finished just 0.6 second ahead Magalhaes!

Very good race had also another local driver Christos Demesthenous, who was fifth after SS10 with Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X. On last two stages lost almost two minutes and fell on P9. He wasn’t competing in ERC2 section. In that section won Petros Panteli in the same car.

Laurent Pellier won in ERC3 section with thirteen minutes ahead other drivers. Emma Falcon won in ERC Ladies section after brake problems on start of event and after her rival Catie Munnings got fifteen minutes penalty due late start on SS3.