Suninen first time on podium, Neuville second win this season

Thierry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul won second time in this season on Vodafone Rally de Portugal. They are also new leaders in championship standings.

Five Power Stage points went to Esapekka Lappi (Toyota) who won stage with 1.9 second ahead Thierry Neuville (Hyundai) with four points. Three points got Dani Sordo (Hyundai), who lost one more place in overall classification in last day in Portugal. Two points went to Teemu Suninen (M-Sport) and one to his teammate Elyfn Evans.

Evans finished also on second place overall, which is his the highest place in this season. The highest place on WRC event ever got Suninen with first time on podium place as third overall.
Sordo finished with more than two minutes ahead both Citroen’s drivers (Ostberg on P6 and Breen on P7), which are also the last drivers on Top 10 places with WRC car.

Eight overall finished WRC2 section winner Pontus Tidemand (Fabia R5) with two minutes ahead Lukasz Pieniažek in the same car. Stephane Lefebvre finished on tenth place with Citroen C3 R5.

Win in WRC3 section went to Denis Radstrom and Johan Johansson with amazing fifteen minutes ahead Enrico Oldrati – Danilo Fappani and two minutes more ahad David Holder – Jason Farmer.