WRC2 title for season 2016

Essapekka Lappi become fourth WRC2 champion with codriver Janne Ferm and Škoda Fabia R5 racing car!

Previous WRC2 champions:

2015 – Nasser Al-Attiyah (Ford Fiesta RRC & Škoda Fabia R5)
2014 – Nasser Al-Attiyah (Ford Fiesta RRC)
2013 – Robert Kubica (Citroen DS3 RRC)


Lappi was with Pontus Tidemand part of Škoda Motorsport team this year, so yes – he had full support. But on other hand also Tidemand had all chances to win a title, but he was present just on five WRC2 events, so he is “just” fifth place on overall standings with win on Portugal.

Also Elfyn Evans had full support from M-Sport. He was driving Ford Fiesta R5 and had great start of season with two wins on Monte Carlo and Sweden. He won also on Corsica, but that wasn’t enough, because he wasn’t present on one of six missing events. It is little shame for him and team, but he won Great Britain title on the finish. He is third on WRC2 standings, with the same points as Teemo Suninen.

Suninen didn’t had factory support and he was driving for private team. He also won on three events: Mexico, Sardegna and Poland. Another wins go to Jan Kopecky (Spain) and Nicolas Fuchs (Argentina).

Final championship standings:

1. Lappi – 132 points
2. Suninen – 120
3. Evans – 120
4. Kopecky – 92
5. Tidemand – 85
6. Fuchs – 83
7. Ptaszek – 57
8. Kremer – 55
9. Aasen – 51
10. Loubet – 36