WRC Poland 2016 – review

Yes, we are still under great feelings from WRC Rally Poland 2016, which was our second visited WRC event.

The best start was for Hyundai drivers Neuville and Paddon, but Mikkelsen took the lead after third stage.

It was great start also for top three Škoda Fabia R5 drivers in WRC2 which were on first three places (1. Tidemand, 2. Suninen, 3. Lappi). But on SS9 Tidemand made a mistake and went off road, so Suninen was the leader on Day 1. On SS7 Bonato lost the wheel after little mistake:


In overall classification Tanak took the lead on SS8 and was leader after Day 1.


Also in Day 2 there wasn’t any change. Tanak won four stages and was 21.3 seconds ahead Mikkelsen (2nd) and 27.8 ahead Paddon (3rd).


There was dry conditions on both days without any big mistake from top WRC drivers. Ogier lost time due sweeping roads, Latvala didn’t find the rhythm.

But there was many damaged cars in lower categories, which ones you can see also in our gallery:

73. PZM Rajd Polski – Rally Poland 2016

Everything went wrong on the last day. There was a rain on Sunday and there was really muddy conditions on the road.


On SS18 Gilbert lost fourth place in WRC2 after engine failure, on SS19 Sordo crunched his Hyundai i20 WRC into a hay bale chicane and damaged front of his car. He must to retired after that mistake. Lefebvre also did a mistake after great driving on Poland roads. He crashed into tree with his back off the car and almost lost the wheel. He managed to drove into service, but he lost seventh place overall.


Then on SS20 was the dramatic part of this event. On first, Neuville had puncture on his Hyundai, then also Tanak on his Ford Fiesta WRC. He had 18.6 lead ahead Mikkelsen before that stage. After finish line of this unluckly stage he was 16.5 second behind Andreas. First WRC win was lost. Powerstage wasn’t bring anything new, so Mikkelsen won his second WRC event, Tanak made his best WRC result (second place overall). Little gaps are for second place, there were five drivers in about 15 seconds.

Powerstage win went to Ogier, Latvala was second, Neuville third.

Overall standings after finish line:

1. Mikkelsen Andreas – Jæger Anders ( Volkswagen Polo R WRC ) 2:37:34.4
2. Tänak Ott – Mõlder Raigo ( Ford Fiesta RS WRC ) +26.2
3. Paddon Hayden – Kennard John ( Hyundai i20 WRC ’16 ) +28.5
4. Neuville Thierry – Gilsoul Nicolas ( Hyundai i20 WRC ’16 ) +29.3
5. Latvala Jari-Matti – Anttila Miikka ( Volkswagen Polo R WRC ) +33.8
6. Ogier Sébastien – Ingrassia Julien ( Volkswagen Polo R WRC ) +40.3
7. Breen Craig – Martin Scott ( Citroën DS3 WRC ) +2:01.4
8. Østberg Mads – Fløene Ola ( Ford Fiesta RS WRC ) +3:04.6
9. Lefebvre Stéphane – Moreau Gabin ( Citroën DS3 WRC ) +5:12.0
10. Camilli Eric – Veillas Benjamin ( Ford Fiesta RS WRC ) +5:23.1

But also in WRC2 section Lappi lost win due puncture on SS20. He leads with 19.4 seconds before that moment. So Suninen won his third WRC2 event and he is now second on overall standings in championship. In WRC3 was the winner Simone Tempestini with more than three minutes ahead Folb and sixt minutes ahead Veiby.


WRC2 results from Poland:
1. Suninen Teemu – Markkula Mikko ( Škoda Fabia R5 ) 2:43:27.7
2. Evans Elfyn – Parry Craig ( Ford Fiesta R5 ) +49.6
3. Lappi Esapekka – Ferm Janne ( Škoda Fabia R5 ) +2:32.7
4. Kajetanowicz Kajetan – Baran J. ( Ford Fiesta R5 ) +6:32.8
5. Kołtun Jarosław – Pleskot I. ( Ford Fiesta R5 ) +10:36.4
6. Loubet Pierre-Louis – Landais V. ( Citroën DS3 R5 ) +11:01.5
7. Tidemand Pontus – Andersson Jonas ( Škoda Fabia R5 ) +15:20.3
8. Fuchs Nicolás – Mussano Fernando ( Škoda Fabia R5 ) +15:59.8
9. Turán Frigyes – Zsíros Gábor ( Ford Fiesta R5 ) +17:29.5
10. Kruuda Karl – Järveoja Martin ( Ford Fiesta R5 ) +18:45.8